Kentucky African American Newspapers.
This page is part of the Notable Kentucky African Americans Database. It provides a very thorough list of African-American newspapers that were published in Kentucky. The newspapers titles link to information about the publication, including biographical information for editors and location information for known holdings. Unfortunately, many of these newspapers have no known holdings. A few titles have some issues online. If the entry includes a Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program or Chronicling America link follow that link to pull up any online issues.
The online link for the Reporter (Mt Sterling) does not lead to online issues. Use this Kentucky Digital Newspaper Program link instead.
Notable Kentucky African Americans Database. Contains hundreds of biographical sketches of notable Black Kentuckians, along with cited references; an A-Z subject guide; links to special topics.
158 Resources to Understand Racism in America (Smithsonian).Articles, videos, podcasts and websites from the Smithsonian chronicle the history of anti-black violence and inequality in the United States.
America’s Black Holocaust Museum
ABHM’s mission is to increase the public’s awareness and understanding of the magnitude of the Black Holocaust, its ongoing impact on American society, and what we can do about it.
BlackPast.org. Research Guides
Contains biographical profiles of former African-American Members of Congress, links to information about current black Members, essays on institutional and national events that shaped successive generations of African Americans in Congress, and images of each individual Member, supplemented by other historical photos.
Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938
2,300+ first-person accounts of slavery & 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves
Digital History. Contains a vast collection of resources on U.S. history, including slavery, Reconstruction, segregation and discrimination, and the Civil Rights Movement. Of particular note is the link under For Teachers - Lesson Plans.
The Freedmen and Southern Society Project was established in 1976 to capture the essence of that revolution by depicting the drama of emancipation in the words of the participants: liberated slaves and defeated slaveholders, soldiers and civilians, common folk and the elite, Northerners and Southerners.
IN MOTION: The African-American Migration Experience
National Archives. Black History. Large collection of primary resources.
Segregation in the South and in the North. PBS Learning Media. Media resources.
Social Welfare History Project. Virginia Commonwealth University Libraries. Touch Eras with your cursor and click on one of the entries in the drop-down menu for background reading. Click on Issues and choose one of the categories for articles, excerpts, primary resources and in-depth writings on aspects of social welfare history.
Talking About Race. National Museum of African American History and Culture. Smithsonian.