LibGuides: FYE 105: First Year Experience: Library Services

Library Services

What are some services the library offers?

24/7 access on online resources
Research assistance or instructional help with library databases & finding credible websites
Chat & text service
Computer lab with printer/copy machine/scanner
2 group study rooms - currently closed due to Covid-19
Makerspace with 3d printer, button makers, cricut die cutting machine, sewing, various arts & crafts - currently closed due to Covid-19
Workshops on library sources
'Chill out zones' with comfortable furniture, games, magazines, adult coloring books
Contactless Grab n' Go book check out (you request the item, we pull and check out the book)
Interlibrary Loan (borrow books from other libraries)
Research Guides

Virtual Services

Online library resources are available 24/7 from most devices. Find our databases under "Quick Links" on the ECTC Library webpage or choose A - Z Databases. You can search across the online databases for thousands of full-text articles in our most popular databases EBSCOhost, ProQuest, CQ Researcher , or Gale Databases; over half a million full-text eBooks available in our EBSCO eBook databases; and over 40,000 Films on Demand streaming videos. Or, you can begin with one of our Research Guides, for recommended resources in particular subjects, programs, or courses and link directly to sources that you need for your papers, projects, and assignments.

Library staff will continue to be available to assist patrons through

Chat with a librarian
Email: ECTCLibrary@kctcs.edu or librarians Katie Meyer cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu or Laurie MacKellar laurie.mackellar@kctcs.edu
Ask-A-Librarian
Text: (502) 791-7995 (data and/or text rates with your carrier will apply)
Phone: (270) 706-8812
Meet live in Microsoft Teams: Contact Katie Meyer cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu to set up a reference appointment via Teams

Articles, EBooks, Streaming Media

Start your research with our popular databases:

Opposing Viewpoints
Great source for argumentative or position papers or speeches with a focus on current events and social issues. START WITH "BROWSE ISSUES" LIGHT BULB ICON LOCATED ON RIGHT OF PAGE
CQ Researcher
In-depth, expertly-written reports about current issues. Great for argumentative or position writing assignments. Research questions (in bold) are presented throughout the report and explored from multiple points of view. START WITH "BROWSE REPORTS" BY DATE
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)
Most popular database for all disciplines and topics. Contains full-text articles from: magazines, newspapers, trade/professional journals, and peer-reviewed academic journals
Credo Refernce
"Academic Wikipedia." Great for topic discovery and finding facts. Includes over 3.4 million full text entries in 969 reference books. Use Credo Reference to find encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographies, quotations, and more.

Sources for articles (magazines, newspapers, peer-reviewed journals, and trade/professional journal):

Ebook Collections:

EBSCO Ebook Collections

Streaming Media:

Films on Demand

Browse All Databases:

A-Z Databases