The ECTC Collier Library celebrates not one, but two anniversaries. The library first opened its doors on September 3, 1964, when classes began at Elizabethtown Community College. It opened new doors in a new building in early September of 1984. The Collier Library, housed in the James M. Collier Learning Resource Center, is both 60 and 40 years old in September 2024. It will celebrate the 40th anniversary of its dedication on September 30, 2025
When Elizabethtown Community College opened its doors in September 1964 the single building contained a small library, located in the room that now contains the Morrison Gallery. Betty Jane McFarland was hired in May 1964 as the first librarian. Miss McFarland, a native of Hart County, received her library degree from Peabody College. She retired in December 2000, having worked at the college for 36 years.
Miss McFarland worked through the summer of 1964 to make ready the library for the first crop of students. 700 books greeted them; 5000 books waved them off at the end of that first year. The library also housed magazines, journals and newspapers for students to use for their research assignments and print indexes to allow them to locate articles in those magazines and journals.
Like many college libraries of the time, the ECC Library circulated audio-visual equipment and resources. It provided laboratory space and audio-visual equipment for the use of students enrolled in language, music, science and classes in other disciplines. Resources and equipment included film loops, film strips,16mm motion pictures, slides, vinyl LPs, overhead projectors, slide and film projectors, turntables, cassette players and headphones for music and language listening assignments, and much more.
The library became the Media Center in 1968. Professor Donald Wallace served as director from 1968 to 1973. Maurice Utley succeeded him as director until 1997. Ann Thompson served as Library Director from 1997 to 2016. Katie Meyer has held the position from 2017 to the present.
The Media Center quickly became very cramped, expanding into the area now occupied by the Early Childhood Education program. Approval for a new building came through in the early 80s. The groundbreaking for the new Learning Resource Center took place on April 7, 1983. Jim Collier and T.K. Stone wielded shovels alongside UK President Otis Singletary and Chancellor Charles Wethington.
The Media Center moved to the new Learning Resource Center in the summer, opening its doors in September 1984. The dedication took place a year later on September 30, 1985 – funding issues delayed the construction of the Learning Laboratory, also housed in the LRC. The Learning Resource Center was designated the James M. Collier Learning Resource Center in 1996. The occasion was marked with a dedication ceremony. Jim Collier, guest of honor, admired the plaque and portrait that still hang in the library wall of the lobby.
The new Media Center featured a soundproof music-listening room; a Kentucky Room; a faculty reading room; and a conference-preview room. The books and card catalogs, periodicals and periodical indexes, microfilm reels and microfilm readers, the AV resources and equipment were all packed up and brought to the new building in the summer of 1984.
Research in the 1980s was still paper-based. Students conducted library research like college students of the early 1900s. But changes were coming…
The UK community colleges acquired their first electronic catalogs in 1990. ECC students could search the ECC book catalog, the catalogs of the other community colleges, and the University of Kentucky book catalog. Interlibrary loan requests shot up. The card catalog disappeared by the mid-90s.
Students could also use the catalog terminals to search electronic magazine indexes. These were so much easier to use than the heavy and cumbersome print indexes. These were also stored on the UK mainframe computer. Students didn’t realize it but they were using the pre-web Internet every time they searched the catalog or indexes.
In 1994 the Media Center introduced its first full-text databases. Students could use designated desktops to read and print out complete journal and newspaper articles. Not very exciting in 2024, but full text databases were gamechangers in the mid-90s.
The new Kentucky Virtual Library brought a new set of databases in 1999. The EBSCO collection was an amazing suite of full-text databases, and the library’s first set of web-based databases. The library’s existing databases, SearchBank and NewsBank, both joined the new ones, moving to the web in 1999.
The Community Colleges acquired a new library catalog system in 1999. The Voyager public catalog was the Media Center’s first web-based catalog, accessible anywhere through the library’s website. This may not sound very exciting now, but patrons, at that time, were happy to be able to search the catalog at home..
The Media Center switched back to the designation “library” in the early 2000s. It offered its first e-book collection, NetLibrary, in 2003. The database contained 11,000 books. Today the EBSCO eBook collections boast hundreds of thousands of books.
Some major reference books became web-based databases. Students were able to search the databases away from campus by obtaining passwords at the library. They were happy in 2006 when they no longer had to ask for passwords. They did not realize that it was the introduction of EZProxy, and the hard work of the campus IT department that made this change possible. So much happens behind the scenes.
2005 brought 27 workstations into the library for student use. Students could now use the Internet for fun as well as for research. They could use chat rooms and eBay, play games and watch videos, work on their MySpace and Facebook profiles, as well as use Office products for assignments and conduct research using library resources. Just no pornography, please!
The library added some new electronic resources, such as the Oxford English Dictionary, Opposing Viewpoints, the Washington Post. An important addition was Films on Demand, a database of instructional films and documentaries, acquired in 2012.
The library acquired its most recent catalog software in 2018. ALMA, a web-based system, allows students to search the catalogs and databases all at once.
The library went through two renovations/refurbishments, one in 2019 and one in 2023. New paint, carpeting and furnishings has given the library an open, well-lit, up-to-date look. The library offers 5 study rooms with large-screen computers for group viewing and remote access tutoring. Students can choose to study in comfortable nooks, hives and study carrels; they can recline on sofas and bean bags. They can use the desktops and WiFi. They can use the 3D printers, button makers and other equipment in the Makerspace, and they can check out cordless drills and drums from the Library of Things.
The library officially became the Collier Library in 2019.
SEGOAL 3D Pen SUNLU 3D Printing Pen
Check out our New Books, available for check-out. Community members can get library cards, too! Take a look at our New Books list - see if anything catches your eye.
The event takes place Tuesday, February 18th at 12 pm. It will be held in the library. Bring a poem or prose selection to read. You can also choose from the books available in the library. Many of these will be on display. Refreshments will be served.
Come and check out our displays! Check out the books and take them home. We have two displays right now. The lobby case showcases novels written by African American authors. The library case is devoted to LOVE!
Ancestry Library Edition contains over 10 billion historical records, 600 million searchable names and records from over 80 countries (although records generated in the United States are, by far, the most common.) Use Ancestry Library Edition to find records that will help you trace your own ancestry and create a family tree. In many cases you may find that others have already created trees containing your ancestors.
We advise looking first at the Genealogy Guide (available on the library home page under Research Guides.) To get into the database go to the Library Home Page, scroll down until you see Quick Links, and click on Ancestry Library Edition.
The library open house took place on September 25, 2019. Students and employees attended the event, enjoying the food and the music provided by the ECTC Guitar Club, and checking out the new makerspace, furnishings, games and study spaces.
ECTC President Dr. Juston Pate and Library Director Katie Meyer each said a few words before Ms. Meyer cut the ribbon, officially opening the newly refurbished and updated library. Guests included Hardin County Chamber of Commerce President Brad Richardson; Hardin County Magistrate E.G. Thompson; former director Ann B. Thompson; Hardin County Public Library Director Rene Hutcheson; Brian Smith from the office of U.S. Congressman Brett Guthrie; members of the Hardin County Chamber of Commerce; and current and former library employees.
Library Director Katie Meyer (on left, in green) talks with ECTC President Dr. Juston Pate; librarian Laurie MacKellar talks with Brian Smith from Congressman Guthrie's office, Cathy Doolin, Business Development Representative at Fort Knox Federal Credit Union and Phil Tabb from Hodges Auction Company
Librarian Laurie MacKellar shows off the makerspace to HCCC members Phil Tabb from Hodges Auction Company (in white shirt,) Cathy Doolin, Business Development Representative at Fort Knox Federal Credit Union, and Brian Smith, DIrector of Economic Development at office of U.S. Congressman Brett Guthrie
Library Directors Katie Meyer (ECTC, in green dress) and Rene Hutcheson (HCPL, in striped dress) talk together before the ribbon cutting. At left: Brad Richardson, President of the Hardin County Chamber of Commerce; Dr. Juston Pate, President of ECTC; and E.G. Thompson, Hardin County Magistrate.
ECTC President Dr. Pate talks with former library specialist Joy Gardner. HCCC president Brad Richardson may be seen in the background
ECTC music instructors Andrew Rhinehard and Kevin Shank are both classical guitar virtuosos. The ECTC library was delighted to have them perform duets for the ribbon cutting ceremony guests.
The library is OPEN and furniture Installation Has CEASED!
"If you have a garden in your library nothing will be lacking" Marcus Tullius Cicero to a friend
Come visit the new makerspace in the library. At this time we have buttonmakers and buttonmaking supplies; two 3D printers; a sewing machine, a Cricut machine and traditional art and sewing supplies. For more information visit the Makerspace LibGuide.
The library adds new books in print every month. New books will appear on the display shelves. You can also see monthly lists of new books using the New Books link on the ECTC library home page. If you wish to receive a list of new books once a month please contact Laurie MacKellar
The ECTC Library has a Facebook page! Come like us at https://www.facebook.com/ECTClibrary/
YouTube
We have instructional videos on youtube too.
