The container is the information about where the source is found and can be: a journal, publisher, website, database, newspaper, etc.
General Formatting Rules for MLA Works Cited
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Version (if applicable), Numbers
(vol. #, no. #), Publication date, Page numbers. Title of Database, URL or DOI
Protopopova, Alexandra, et al. "In-Kennel Behavior Predicts Length of Stay in
Shelter Dogs." Plos ONE, vol. 9, no. 12, (2014), pp. 1-21. Academic Search Complete,
doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0114319
If the journal you are citing appears exclusively in an online-only format that does not make use of page numbers, indicate the URL or other location information. It a print edition exists, you must include page numbers. Include date accessed (recommended).
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, vol. #, no. #,
Year, page numbers, URL. Accessed day month year.
Harbolt, Tami and Tamara H. Ward. "Teaming Incarcerated Youth with Shelter Dogs
for a Second Chance." Society and Animals, vol. 9, no. 2, 2001, pp. 177-182, www.animalsandsociety.org/wp-content/uploads/2015/11/harbolt.pdf . Accessed 6 Oct. 2017.
Scholarly Journal Article, Print
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Journal, Vol. #, Issue,
Year, page range.
Pease, James L., Melodi Billera, and Georgia Gerard. "Military Culture and the
Transition to Civilian Life: Suicide Risk and Other Considerations." Social
Work, vol. 61, no. 1, 2016, pp. 83-85.
Please note that all citation entries should be double-spaced & contain a hanging indent.
Last name, First name. "Title of the Web Page." Title of the Overall Web Site, Day Month Year Published, URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
Landau, Elizabeth. "CDC: Swine Flu Viruses in U.S. and Mexico Match." CNN, 25 Apr. 2009,
www.cnn.com/2009/HEALTH/04/24/swine.flu/index.html. Accessed 9 Oct. 2017.
*Note: The MLA Handbook (8th ed.) advises that date accessed is no longer required when citing web publications, but it is recommended.
From https://www.easybib.com/guides/mla-citation-templates-infographic/
Please note that all citation entries should be double-spaced and contain a hanging indent.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, vol. #, no. #, Day Month Year, page numbers. Title of Database, URL
(permalink) or DOI.
Shapiro, Bruce. "The Executioner's Last Song." Nation, vol. 288, no. 14, 13 Apr. 2009, p. 5. MAS Ultra -
School Edition (EBSCOhost), http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=ulh&AN=37368243&site=ehost-live.
Magazine or Trade Article, Online
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical. Publisher, Day Month Year
published. URL. Accessed Day Month Year.
Andrew, Joshua. "How We Grieve on Social Media." The Atlantic. Atlantic Media,
25 Apr. 2014, www.theatlantic.com/health/archive/2014/04/grieving-in-public-tragedy-on-social-media/360788/2. Accessed 2 June 2016.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Periodical, Day Month Year, pages.
Dickinson, Tim. "The War on Drugs." Rolling Stone, 19 May 2016, pp. 30-35.
Please note that all citation entries should be double-spaced & contain a hanging indent.
*Omit A, An, or The as the first word in a newspaper title.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year published,
Section, page no (if given). Database Name, URL.
Press, The Associated. "Feds Urge Colleges Not to Ask." Seattle Times, 10 May 2016,
News, p. A2. Newsbank, iw.newsbank.com.libproxy.kctcs.edu/resources/doc/nb/news/15CD0E6DAF3ED558?p=NewsBank.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year
published, URL (permalink), Accessed Day Month Year.
Last name, First name. "Title of Article." Title of Newspaper, Day Month Year,
Section, page number.
Please note that all citation entries should be double-spaced & contain a hanging indent.
eBooks (from a database)
Last name, First name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.
Database Name. URL (permalink).
Friese, Carrie. Cloning Wild Life: Zoos, Captivity, and the Future of Endangered Animals. NYU Press, 2013.
eBook Collection (EBSCOhost). search.ebscohost.com/login.aspxdirect=true&db=nlebk&AN=611788&site=ehost-live.
Print Books
Last name, First name. Title of Book. Publisher, Year.
Hawthorne, Nathaniel. The Scarlet Letter. Modern Library, 1950.
From https://www.easybib.com/guides/mla-citation-templates-infographic/
Works Cited list:
Last name, First name of the creator. “Title of podcast.” Title of the website, role of contributors and their First name Last name, Version, Numbers, Publisher, Publication date, URL.
Example:
In-Text Citation:
(Author/ or Title)
Example:
("Best of Not")
"References in the text must clearly point to specific sources in the list of works cited." - MLA Handbook, 7 ed.
In MLA style you briefly credit sources with parenthetical citations in the text of your paper. Generally, a parenthetical citation includes the author's last name and the page number(s) of the information used:
Example:
Commercial egg producing facilities should have greater government oversight (Jefferson 97 - 100).
"Although factory farms can produce large quantities of food cheaply, animal-welfare advocates call them inhumane, and environmentalists and local residents say they generate pollution and noxious odors and byproducts" (Jefferson 9).
If such information is already given in the body of the sentence, then exclude it from the parenthetical citation.
Jefferson argues for greater government oversight of commercial egg producing facilities (97 - 100).
If there are two or three authors of the source, include their last names in the order they appear on the source:
Example:
(Smith, Wollensky, and Johnson 45).
If there are more than three authors, you can cite all the authors with their last name, or you can cite the first author followed by “et al.” Follow what is shown the works cited list.
Example:
(Smith et al. 45).