Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Services & Sources for Online Learning: Home

Library Services and Sources for Online Classes

General Library Information

The safety of our library patrons and employees is our top priority. To address the Coronavirus pandemic, we are following the guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and the Kentucky Community and Technical College System. Due to COVID-19, many things have changed with library services and how we can safely provide those services. These decisions have not been easy to make, but the health and safety of employees and students is the priority of everything we do. For fall 2020, the library will have reduced in person hours and expanded virtual services and chat hours. 

  • All library users must wear a mask, fully covering the mouth and nose, at all times and must maintain 6ft. of distance from other students and library staff. If you are not wearing a mask or wearing it correctly, you will be asked to leave so that we may provide a safer working area for others. We encourage you to take advantage of our virtual services and digital source. 

  • For fall 2020, the library will have reduced hours, limited computers and seating, and will not be able to provide face-to-face or close contact assistance. We apologize for the inconvenience but prioritize the health and safety of our patrons and staff.

  • ECTC library is only open for students & employees. Please do not bring children. 

  • Group study rooms are closed. Please use the computer lab in 154 ATB if you need to attend a real-time (synchronous) online class. 

  • Due to social distancing requirements, all in-library assistance will be provided through our chat service or from 6 ft. away.

  • Book stacks will be closed to open browsing and library faculty/staff will pull your items and check them out for you. Book check-outs will be contactless through our “Grab n’ Go” service. To request an item, fill out our Grab n’ Go form and we will notify you when your item is ready to be picked up from the hold shelf. We will not check out DVDs or materials on Course Reserve.

  • The Makerspace is closed. 

  • Please utilize our many online library resources, available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week from most devices.  See our "virtual services" tab or visit our A-Z databases list.

Need help? FAQsChat with a librarianEmailAsk-A-Librarian, or text (502) 791-7995.

 

Circulation & Due Dates

  • Our book stacks will be closed for browsing and library staff will pull your items and check them out to you through our contactless "Grab n' Go" service.  To request an item, use the book catalog to find book title and author & fill out our Grab n’ Go form and we will notify you when your item is ready to be picked up from our hold self. 
  • We will not circulate DVDs or Course Reserve items. Magazines and newspapers will not be available for browsing but will be stored with back issues on the shelves. Please submit a Grab n' Go request if you would like to browse a magazine or print journal. 
  • Please return items using the outside book drop or the marked cart by the Grab n' Go hold shelf. 
  • Returned items will be quarantined for 4 days before being checked in. You will not accrue overdue fines during this time. 

Virtual Services

Online library resources are available 24/7 from most devices. Find our databases under "Quick Links" on the ECTC Library webpage or choose A - Z Databases. You can search across the online databases for thousands of full-text articles in our most popular databases EBSCOhost, ProQuest, CQ Researcher, or Gale Databases; over half a million full-text eBooks available in our EBSCO eBook databases; and over 40,000 Films on Demand streaming videos. Or, you can begin with one of our Research Guides, for recommended resources in particular subjects, programs, or courses and link directly to sources that you need for your papers, projects, and assignments.

Library staff will continue to be available to assist patrons through

I Can't Log In To Blackboard Can The Library Help?

The library does not maintain Blackboard.

Try logging in directly to Blackboard through https://elearning.kctcs.edu/

If you have trouble logging into Blackboard, you can reset your ECTC password through the User Account Center and try again. If that does not work, delete your cookies and cache from your internet browser or try logging in through a different browser. Exit out of any ECTC application (MyPath, Blackboard, etc) before deleting cookies and cache.  

If you still encounter problems, contact Go KCTCS Student Service Center available online 24/7/365 or call (855)746-3282.

If you still have problems, call the Blackboard Support Center technical support: (317) 333-7300.

On-campus contact: Ramona Barrow or call (270) 706-8486.

 

 

 

Librarian

Katie Meyer's picture
Katie Meyer
chat loading...
Contact:
600 College Street Rd
Elizabethtown, KY 42701
270-706-8812
Website

KCTCS Libraries Respond to COVID-19

Infographic of the ways kctcs libraries responded to the covid 19 closure