Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database & Book Catalog Instruction: Home

Information about how to use the library databases and book catalog.

Databases

Library databases allow you to efficiently search for published information such as magazine, academic journal, and newspaper articles, eBooks, encyclopedia entries, and streaming video. Library databases can be general (all disciplines) or discipline-specific (e.g. a psychology database).

These databases are available to ECTC students and employees 24/7. Click here for a A - Z list of databases.

All databases are found under the "Quick Links" heading on the library web page. 

 

How to I access the databases from home?

When you click a link to ECTC Library e-resources, you will most likely be taken to an authentication page. If so, you will need to enter your full kctcs.edu email address & password. You can see what the this authentication page looks like below:

Image of database sign on page

Logging in requires your full KCTCS email and the password you use to log in to MyPath, Blackboard, and your ECTC student email account.‚Äč

  • If you are unable to log in, you should reset your password using the User Account Center found under Current Students - Student Resources. 
  • If you receive an error message stating "Single Sign-on Error" or a similar error message, follow the steps in the box below to either delete cookies & cache or to open your session in an incognito or private browsing mode. Image of Single Sign-On Error Message

Please do not hesitate to ask the library staff for assistance or advice if you are having access issues.

Trouble Logging Into The Databases?

If you are receiving an error message when trying to access the library e-resources, try one of the options below. 

1. Delete cookies & cache.

For Chrome: Click the menu button (3 dots stacked on top of each other) in upper right corner of the screen

i. Select Settings

ii. Look for "Privacy & Security" Heading 

iii. Select "Clear browsing data" Time range defaults to last hour. Use the drop down menu to clear the past 7 days.

iv. Click blue "clear data" button

v. Open new tab or window and go to library webpage https://elizabethtown.kctcs.edu/current-students/student-resources/library/index.aspx

For Firefox: Click the menu button (3 horizontal lines stacked on top of each other) in upper right corner of the screen

i. Select Options (gear icon)

ii. Select "Privacy & Settings" on left menu

iii. Find heading "Cookies & Site Data" in bold

iv. Select "Clear Data Button"

v. Select "Clear"

vi. Open new tab or window and continue to library webpage https://elizabethtown.kctcs.edu/current-students/student-resources/library/index.aspx

 

2. Open Private/Incognito Browsing Window

For Chrome: Click the menu (3 dots stacked on top of each other) in the upper right corner of the screen

Select "New Incognito Window"

  1. Continue to library webpage in incognito mode 

For Firefox: Click the menu (3 horizontal lines stacked on top of each other) in the upper right corner of the screen

i.  Select "New Private Window"

ii. Continue to library webpage in private mode

 

3. Try using a different browser

4. Reset your password through the KCTCS User Account Center

 

Librarian

Katie Meyer's picture
Katie Meyer
chat loading...
Contact:
600 College Street Rd
Elizabethtown, KY 42701
270-706-8812
Website