Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECTC Archives: Other Sources

Description of ECTC archives holdings; a brief history; finding aids; images

Overview

Much information regarding Elizabethtown Community and Technical College may be found outside of the college archives. The local newspaper, the Elizabethtown News-Enterprise, and its predecessors, the Elizabethtown News and the Hardin County Enterprise, contain photos and many articles about Elizabethtown Community College, Elizabethtown Area Vocational School, Kentucky Tech Elizabethtown, Elizabethtown Technical College and Elizabethtown Community and Technical College. 

Since Elizabethtown Community College was part of the University of Kentucky from its inception in 1962 to the summer of 1997 much information can be found in the university archives. The university continues to scan and add holdings to its online collection which are available to the public.

ExploreUK

The construction of a new community college in Elizabethtown was approved at the time of the official creation of the University of Kentucky Community College System. The U.K. Board of Regents had final say over administrative matters at the community colleges until late 1997. 

Because the university and community colleges were so intertwined a great deal of information on the community colleges is available through UK's Special Collections. The university continues to scan and add holdings to its online collection, available to the public. Most of the collection remains to be scanned but a great deal is available. 

The minutes of the UK Board of Regents holds a wealth of information concerning the community colleges, including information about their creation and construction, the construction of new buildings, the appointment of directors and presidents, the appointments and promotions of faculty members, the approval of policies and procedures, the approval for sabbaticals for community college faculty and much more. These minutes are available and searchable through Explore UK

In addition articles about the community colleges appeared in the Kentucky Kernel, UK's student newspaper. This publication has been scanned and made available through ExploreUK. Official photographs of administrators and faculty are sometimes present as well as other photographs taken at the community colleges. The employee newsletter Communi-K is not yet available but print holdings are still available at Special Collections. This publication contained, until 1997, personnel news for community college faculty and staff. 

Click on ExploreUK and start exploring!

Newspapers

The Elizabethtown News-Enterprise is available on microfilm at the Genealogy Library. Holdings go back to 1974 although there are some gaps between 1974 and 1984. Holdings for the Hardin County Enterprise exist from 1926 to 1974. Holdings for the Elizabethtown News exist from 1882 to 1974.

Articles published in the Elizabethtown News-Enterprise during or after 2008 are available online to those who have a subscription. They are also available to ECTC employees and students via NewsBank.

For articles published prior to 2008 contact Ancestral Trails at the Genealogy Library at  (270) 982-0881 or via email or go to the Ancestral Trails website for more information