Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECTC Archives: About the Collection

Description of ECTC archives holdings; a brief history; finding aids; images

Overview of the ECTC Archives

Elizabethtown Community and Technical College's Collier Library maintains an archives containing documents and photos pertaining to the history of Elizabethtown Community College (1964 to 2003) and Elizabethtown Community and Technical College (2004 to the present.) Material dates range from 1960 to 2013, with a few selected items dating past 2013. The contents reflect the college oversight by the University of Kentucky (1964 to 1997) and by KCTCS (1997 to the present.)

The collection is by no means complete or comprehensive but it does contain yearbooks; memos and communication from Dr. Owens and Dr. Stebbins; older annual reports and self-studies; SACS materials no later than 2000; student literary journals, student newspapers and other publications; student activities such as drama and athletics; graduation programs; employee newsletters; and other materials.

The library no longer serves as repository for most college materials generated after 2000. Some materials already in the archives will be kept. The preservation of digitally-generated materials falls to the generating department. The library keeps and preserves the paper documents and print photographs created from the foundation of the college up to the digital era.

This site, like the archives itself, is a work in progress. More materials will be added to the Archives Site as materials are processed. For questions about this site or the archives please contact Laurie MacKellar (contact information at the bottom of this page.)

 

ECTC Archives - Scope

The ECTC Archives collection primarily spans the time period from 1959 to 2000. Some items created after 2000 have been retained.

Currently the collection contains:

  • 276 document boxes
  • 10 photo boxes
  • 10 photo albums
  • 7 scrapbooks
  • 48 binders filled with clippings from area newspapers
  • 79 binders containing historical administrative documents
  • 8 hardbound yearbooks (1966, 1967, 1968)
  • 6 paperbound yearbooks (1969, 1970, 1971, 1973)*
  • Three quilt boxes with basketball and cheerleading uniforms

*ECC...A Portrait - paperbound yearbooks that do not include individual photos of students or names of students in group photos

 

Librarian

Laurie Mackellar's picture
Laurie Mackellar
Contact:
270-706-8439

ECTC Archives - Projects

Processing and maintaining an archival collection requires a considerable amount of time and effort. At this time the following projects take priority:

  • Pressbook preservation - quick photography and storage of files
  • Assessment, weeding and inventory of materials
  • Organization of materials
  • Storage and labeling of files and containers according to standard archival practices
  • Creating finding aids according to accepted archives practices; making finding aids available online
  • Identification of fragile materials for priority digitization
  • Materials scanning and photography
  • Maintenance of archives email account (currently the primary depository for digitally created and disseminated communications and documents)
  • Promotion of archives through displays

Relevant Qualifications

EDUCATION

M.S.L.S. University of Kentucky. Lexington, KY. December, 1992

M.A, History of Art. The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH. August, 1990. Field of Specialization: Greek and Roman Art and Architecture; minor in Western Medieval Art.

B.A. Greek and Latin. University of Kentucky, Lexington, KY. May, 1986. Phi Beta Kappa, 1986.

EXPERIENCE

Librarian/Archivist. Elizabethtown Community and Technical College. 1997 - Present. Cataloging, system maintenance, circulation and reference, displays, programming, book selection, book promotion, reserves, selected LibGuides. Instruction from 1997 to 2012. Archives from 2015 to present. Current supervisor: Katie Meyer.

Librarian/archives assistant. Southeast Community College. 1994 to 1997. Cataloging, database maintenance, Dewey to LC conversion, PZ conversion, weeding, reference and instruction, instructional materials, KET recording backup, campus programming, Appalachian Archives two days a week. Cataloged art objects; processed Harry Caudill collection; prepared finding aids. Supervisor: Pierce Hellams

Volunteer. University of Kentucky. Special Collections. Fall 1992 to Spring 1993. Created pre-inventory of Nanette Bullock collection, with list of highlights; researched and answered genealogy questions.Supervisors: William T. Marshall and B.J. Gooch.

Graduate assistant: University of Kentucky. Technical Services/Serials. Performed preliminary searching and copy cataloging duties, edited and deleted NOTIS catalog records. Assisted with the IEEE Serials Conversion project. Supervisor: Mary Welch.

Graduate Assistant. Department of History of Art. The Ohio State University. Columbus, OH. 1986 - 1991.

  • Slide Library: rearranged Medieval Architecture slide drawers; restructured Medieval Architecture slide classification scheme; classified and cataloged slides; mounted slides; assisted patrons. Supervisor: John Taormina.
  • Classroom: taught classes, led recitations and reviews, tutored students, developed, administered and graded examinations and papers.