Dual Credit/High School Library Resources: Resources For Instructors

Need a book or any materials not available at the library or in our databases?

Request it through Interlibrary Loan.

For print books: check our book catalog 

For eBooks: check our 10 EBSCO eBook collections 

Search our databases for articles, streaming film, and eBooks using the PRIMO tool below

A class session with a librarian is a great way for students to become familiar with ECTC's library services and resources. 

Librarians provide assignment-based library instruction or a workshop day for your students when requested. A shorter, general library information session is also available. Instruction is available for all courses, but it is best for instruction to be structured around an assignment. Instruction sessions may include library overview, research databases, library catalog, internet searching, evaluating sources, or other topics as requested by faculty.

• Schedule your session at a time in the semester when the students' need for information is pertinent.
• Prepare your students by reminding them of the instruction session.
• Participate in the session
  • Faculty participation during the session helps students understand the importance of the session and can help bring clarity to research assignments. 

What is an embedded librarian?

• An embedded librarian is a librarian that is integrated into your Blackboard course who can provide research assistance and library instruction to students in online, hybrid, or web-enhanced courses. A librarian will be added as a TA to your course to respond to questions related to research or library resources. 
• There are different levels of embedded librarianship, each customized to course and faculty needs. The librarian can be very active and present in your course or can be hands-off and passively available. 

What can your embedded librarian do for your students?

• Instruction Sessions - librarian can provide a "one shot" library instruction session via Collaborate/Teams or can host open "office hours" for scheduled or drop in research help
• Course specific Research Guides or tabs in existsting guides - see History Guide as example
• Discussion Forums - librarians can participate in discussion forums to provide just-in-time help
• Resource Lists - Librarians can post course resources in Blackboard including pre-recorded videos and handouts about general research skills or tailored to a specific assignment.

Embedding can make librarians more approachable, and provides students with a convenient way to contact a librarian with questions, or to schedule a research appointment for in-depth help

Contact Katie Meyer at cmeyer0015@kctcs.edu or (270) 706-8443 to add a librarian to your Bb course. 

Uploading or linking to articles, videos, or eBooks from our databases is a great way to provide additional course material to your students at no cost.

Each database is slightly different in how you upload the content into your Bb course, but you essentially look for a permalink (EBSCO), get link (Gale), All Options Link (Proquest), or Share->Embed/Link (Films on Demand). Do not use the URL from the browser address bar. You must link the article from the database using a permalink or share feature. 

EBSCO Articles & eBooks:

Select the Permalink located in the right toolbar of the book/article inforamtion page. Copy & pase URL into Blackboard. 

Gale Databases:

Select Get Link tool from upper right toolbar. Copy and paste URL from pop up. 

Proquest:

Select "All Options" from upper right toolbar. Click on URL to copy to clipboard.

Films on Demand:

Select the share tool below the play button. Select the Embed/Link tab from the pop up. Copy the URL.

Credo Reference:

Research Quick Tips videos from Credo Reference - add these short videos to Bb using the Page Link tool at the top right corner of the page.