This section will cover articles. Articles are much shorter than books. They will focus on very narrow topics. Some will give you up-to-date information on specific current events or issues. Others will contain reports on the results of original research. If you are planning on majoring in business or pursuing a business career you should become familiar with trade publications and peer-reviewed journals. You should always read articles in newspapers and news magazines in order to stay current on politics and current events as well as business news and trends. If you plan to target specific populations such as age groups you should look at articles published in magazines aimed at that age group or focused on topics and activities of interest to that age group. Business majors will benefit from reading widely.
Most of our magazine, journal and trade journal articles come from two database companies. We subscribe to these databases. As long as you are a student or employee at ECTC you have access to the articles from these databases, whether you are on or off campus.
Business Economics and Theory (Gale)
Now called Gale OneFile: Economics and Theory. This database offers instant access to full-text business publications —with a strong emphasis on titles covered in the EconLit bibliographic index. Content is useful for starting a business, marketing a product, developing policy, analyzing trends, constructing economic models, investing for the future, researching rates, and more. Users can try the Topic Finder or the Subject Guide search as well as the general search interface.
Business Searching Interface (EBSCOhost)
Access to SWOT analyses, company and industry profiles, and market research reports. Also includes country reports prepared by CountryWatch - these reports are quite detailed, covering general histories, detailed political histories, information about taxes, revenue, imports and exports, membership in world organizations and more.
Business Source Premier (EBSCOhost)
Our most popular business database and one that is widely used in the industry - it contains complete articles published in business-themed magazines, trade publications and peer-reviewed journals. It also contains indexing for many more publications. Sometimes you will see an article where you can see the title and read the abstract but cannot pull the complete article. If you want this article you can fill out an interlibrary loan form. Give us a week or more.
Regional Business News (EBSCOhost)
Full text coverage for regional business publications.
Small Business Collection (Gale)
Now called Gale OneFile Entrepreneurship, this collection provides access to articles from over 500 business journals and trade publications. You can search on a topic; browse specific publications; or use the Subject Finder to help you focus your search.
Small Business Reference Center (EBSCOhost)
Comprehensive resource for small business owners and those interested in starting a business. It offers full-text articles and reports, sample business plans, U.S. tax forms, videos and reference books.
Newspaper articles. You need to keep up with daily events and current issues. Newspaper articles are written by news reporters. The articles contain information about events that happened yesterday, or even today, on their websites. They cover international, national, state and local news. Most newspapers require a subscription although many will allow you to look at a limited number of articles per month. Our library offers several subscriptions where you can read as many newspaper articles as you wish.
Find current, diverse perspectives on topics related to controversial issues, the environment, health, education, science, the arts, literature, business, economics, criminal justice, and more from a variety of current and retrospective news media including newspapers, newswires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, periodicals, videos and web-only content.
Newspaper Source provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 (U.S.) & international newspapers. The database also contains selective full text for 389 regional (U.S.) newspapers. In addition, full text television & radio news transcripts are also provided.
Complete text of the Washington Post
Instructions for Searching EBSCO Databases (prepared by Katie Meyer)
Instructions for Searching Gale Databases (prepared by Katie Meyer)
Trade publications include well-known titles such as Bloomberg BusinessWeek, Fortune, Money, and many others. The articles are written by practitioners in the field for other business practitioners. The writers use the language of business and industry but they do not use academic jargon. Nonpractitioners often read these publications. The articles cover current events, issues and trends that affect business and industry.
Journal articles differ from magazine articles in that they do not cover current events or very recent events. Rather, they contain the reports of specialist researchers on the results of research projects. The specialists conduct original studies that sometimes take years to complete. They can be difficult to read because the researchers are not writing for undergraduate college students. They are writing for other researchers. If you plan to pursue an MBA in the future you will be asked to read these articles. For the time being you may find information that you can use for assignments. You may also wish to take a look at them on your own and look for topics that might relate to your future plans. These journals are expensive. You have free access while you are in school. Take advantage of this opportunity.
Selected Peer-Reviewed Full-Text Business Journals
Academy of Management Journal – full text in EBSCO. Academy of Management. The journal is published six times a year in February, April, June, August, October, and December.
Academy of Management Review – full text in EBSCO. Academy of Management. AMR is published quarterly in January, April, July, and October.
Administrative Science Quarterly – full text. Sage. Published four times a year.
Journal of Business Disciplines – full text
Journal of Business Communications – full text
Journal of Business and Educational Leadership – full text
Journal of Business Finance and Accounting – full text with a one-year embargo
Journal of Consumer Research (Oxford University Press, published 6 times a year) – full text
Journal of Marketing. American Marketing Association. 6 times a year. Full text to the present –
Journal of Marketing Communications. Routledge. 6 times a year. Full text to the present
Journal of Marketing Management. Routledge. Full text to the present but with a year embargo
Journal of Marketing Research. American Marketing Association. Full text to the present
Journal of Occupational and Organizational Psychology. Wiley-Blackwell. 4 times per year. Full text with year’s embargo
Journal of Political Economy. University of Chicago Press. 6 times per year. Full text with 12 month embargo
Journal for Product Innovation Management. Wiley-Blackwell. 6 times per year. Full text with 12 month embargo
Journal of Risk and Insurance. Wiley-Blackwell. 4 times per year. Full text with 12 month embargo
Journal of Risk Research. Routledge. 12 times per year. Full text with 12 month embargo
Journal of Small Business Management. Taylor and Francis. 4 times per year. Full text with 12 month embargo
Journal of Strategic Marketing. Routledge. 8 times per year. Full text with 18 month embargo
Journal of the Academy of Marketing Science. Springer. 6 times per year. Full text
Journal of the American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. American Society of Farm Managers and Rural Appraisers. Published once per year. Full text to present
*Organization Science. Full text but with a 5 year embargo period.