Skip to Main Content

Human Services: Databases & Journals

Resources for Human Services coursework. Includes information about academic research, sociology & psychology databases, and APA citation style.

Scholarly Sources

A scholarly publication is one in which the content is written by experts in a particular field of study - generally for the purpose of sharing original research or analyzing others' findings. Scholarly work will thoroughly cite all source materials used and is usually subject to "peer review" prior to publication where independent experts in the field review the publication to check the accuracy and validity of its claims.

In brief, scholarly work is:

  • written by experts for experts (scholars or students studying the field)
  • based on original research or intellectual inquiry
  • provides citations for all sources used
  • is usually peer reviewed prior to publication

From The University of British Columbia

Sociology & Psychology Databases

Logo for EBSCO Sociological Collection Sociological Collection (EBSCOhost)This database provides coverage of more than 500 full text, peer-reviewed titles. Sociological Collection offers information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.  Includes the journal "Social Work".

Logo for Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection (EBSCOhost) Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection is a comprehensive database covering information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods. Includes topics such as PTSD, counseling, addiction & recovery, abuse, & records management.

Blue dot logo for EBSCO Academic Search CompleteAcademic Search Complete (EBSCOhost) Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.  Includes topics related to Social Work, Human Services, and professional ethics.

How to I access the databases from home?

Logging in to the databases requires your full KCTCS email and the password.‚Äč

  • If you receive an error message stating "Single Sign-on Error" or a similar error message, follow the steps in the box to the right to either delete cookies & cache or to open your session in an incognito or private browsing mode. Image of Single Sign-On Error Message
  • If you are still unable to log in, try a different browser or reset your password using the User Account Center found under Current Students - Student Resources. 

Please do not hesitate to ask the library staff for assistance if you are having access issues.

  • Email ECTCLibrary@kctcs.edu, use our chat service, or text (502) 791 - 7995. 

Electronic Journals

Example Article

Cover of journal Social Work featuring brown pictures of people

This is an example of a scholarly article from the journal Social Work located in the Sociological Collection of EBSCOhost.

APA Citation:

Kimball, E., & Kim, J. (2013). Virtual boundaries: Ethical considerations for use of social media in social work. Social Work, 58(2), 185-188. doi:10.1093/sw/swtO05

Article Link

Anatomy of a Scholarly Article From NCSU Libraries

Alternative Databases

Trouble Logging Into The Databases?

If you are receiving an error message when trying to access the library e-resources, try one of the options below. 

1. Delete cookies & cache.

For Chrome: Click the menu button (3 dots stacked on top of each other) in upper right corner of the screen

i. Select Settings

ii. Look for "Privacy & Security" Heading 

iii. Select "Clear browsing data" Time range defaults to last hour. Use the drop down menu to clear the past 7 days.

iv. Click blue "clear data" button

v. Open new tab or window and go to library webpage https://elizabethtown.kctcs.edu/current-students/student-resources/library/index.aspx

For Firefox: Click the menu button (3 horizontal lines stacked on top of each other) in upper right corner of the screen

i. Select Options (gear icon)

ii. Select "Privacy & Settings" on left menu

iii. Find heading "Cookies & Site Data" in bold

iv. Select "Clear Data Button"

v. Select "Clear"

vi. Open new tab or window and continue to library webpage https://elizabethtown.kctcs.edu/current-students/student-resources/library/index.aspx

 

2. Open Private/Incognito Browsing Window

For Chrome: Click the menu (3 dots stacked on top of each other) in the upper right corner of the screen

Select "New Incognito Window"

  1. Continue to library webpage in incognito mode 

For Firefox: Click the menu (3 horizontal lines stacked on top of each other) in the upper right corner of the screen

i.  Select "New Private Window"

ii. Continue to library webpage in private mode

 

3. Try using a different browser

4. Reset your password through the KCTCS User Account Center