Skip to Main Content

Nursing: NSG 212

Resource guide for Nursing: includes databases, websites, government sites.

Suggested keywords

Suggested keywords or search queries: cartoon fox at desk with book shelf behind him

suicide risk and health care workers or nursing
suicide prevention for nurses
suicide rates by occupation
suicide rates by industry and occupation
nursing and secondary traumatic stress
health care workers and compassion fatigue and suicide
nurses and burnout
suicidal ideation and nurses
death by suicide
US nurse and physician occupation and risk of suicide

Nursing Websites

American Nurses Association (ANA)
ANA News Releases
Use search function to find articles about suicide, prevention, burnout, and more.
Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health: News
Use 'search all news' button to find articles about suicide and U.S. health care workers.
National Academy of Medicine: National Plan for Health Workforce Well-Being
NAM: News and Insights
Use search function on left toolbar.
American Association of Critical Care Nurses
Use magnifying glass in upper right corner to search keywords.
Nurse.org
Use search in upper right corner.
KY Nurses Association
Look for magnifying glass at top of page to search keywords.

Library eBooks

Beyond Burnout, Second Edition: Overcoming Stress in Nursing & Healthcare for Optimal Health & Well-Being by Suzanne Waddill-Goad
Call Number: EBSCO eBook

ISBN: 9781646480760

Publication Date: 2023-03-31
Courageous Well-Being for Nurses : Strategies for Renewal by Donna A. Gaffney; Nicole C. Foster
Call Number: EBSCO eBook

ISBN: 9781421446684

Publication Date: 2023-09-05
Positive Psychology for Healthcare Professionals : A Toolkit for Improving Wellbeing by Jan Macfarlane; Jerome Carson
ISBN: 9781804559574

Publication Date: 2023-06-05
Reflective Practice, Third Edition : Reimagining Ourselves, Reimagining Nursing by Sara Horton-Deutsch (Editor); Gwen Sherwood (Editor)
ISBN: 9781646481224

Publication Date: 2023-10-15
Self-Care for New and Student Nurses by Dorrie Fontaine; Tim Cunningham; Natalie May
Call Number: EBSCO eBook

ISBN: 9781948057813

Publication Date: 2021-04-01
Self Care for Nurses : Small Doses for Wellness by Natalie B. May; Tim Cunningham; Dorrie K. Fontaine
Call Number: EBSCO eBook

ISBN: 9781646481033

Publication Date: 2023-03-15

Nursing Databases

PubMed
PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.
PubMed Central
PubMed Central® (PMC) is a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health's National Library of Medicine (NIH/NLM).

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
;
- What's included? Full-text articles from of nursing & allied health journals and trade periodicals. Includes: standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments, and clinical trials.

Search Individual Journals

Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing - use search box near top of page
JAMA Network: Look for magnifying glass to search for articles from various JAMA publications
BCM Nursing - In CINAHL, EBSCOhost database
Frontiers in Psychology: International Review
Journal of Primary Care & Community Health
Critical Care Nurse - use search box near top
OJIN: The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing

Understanding Peer Review

Library Search Box

Government/Health Resources

CDC: Center for Disease Control

National Science Foundation

Public Access Repository

US Bureau of Labor Statistics

Labor Force Statistics from the Current Population Survey

Department of Health and Human Services

2024 National Strategy for Suicide Prevention

SAMHSA: Substance Abuse & Mental Health Services Administration

About Suicide

Get Help