Nursing: NSG 239

• Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ), Dept. of Health & Human Services -- EPC (Evidence-based Practice Centers) Evidence Reports

• American Heart Association (AHA) Guidelines & Statements

• National Guideline Clearinghouse (from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality) 

• U.S. Preventive Services Task Force Recommendations: An independent panel of experts in primary care and prevention who systematically reviews the evidence of effectiveness and develops recommendations for clinical preventive services.

• WHO: World Health Organization Guidelines 

• American College of Physicians: ACP develops several different types of clinical recommendations: Clinical Practice Guidelines, Clinical Guidance Statements, Best Practice Advice, and High Value Care Advice.

• Veterans Affairs (VA)/ DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines

• US Preventive Services Task Force (USPSTF)

• CDC Guidelines & Recommendations

• NIH: National Institutes of Health: NIH is made up of 27 Institutes and Centers, each with a specific research agenda, often focusing on particular diseases or body systems.

Below are selected links to resources for finding specific guidelines from a sampling of organizations/societies.

Access a comprehensive list of healthcare organizations via MedlinePlus. 

• American Association of Clinical Endocrinologists

• American Cancer Society

• American College of Cardiology Practice Guidelines & Quality Standards

• American College of Chest Physicians - Evidence Based Clinical Practice Guidelines

• American College of Obstetrics & Gynecologists (ACOG)

• American Diabetes Association - Clinical Practice Recommendations

• American Heart Association - Statements and Guidelines

• American Heart Association (AHA) Guidelines & Statements

• American Society of Health-System Pharmacists - Best Practices (Guidelines)

• National Comprehensive Cancer Network (NCCN) Guidelines

 Nursing Research & Practice

Provides information about all areas of nursing and includes case reports and clinical studies.

 MedSurg Nursing

Provides multidisciplinary information needed to provide clinically excellent patient care & to enhance nursing practices.

 Worldviews on Evidence-Based Nursing

A peer-reviewed, evidence-based nursing journal, is a primary source of information to improve patient care. 

 BMC Nursing

BMC Nursing is an open access, peer-reviewed journal with a primary focus on evidence-based nursing care; nursing research methods; nursing service delivery, utilization, and evaluation; nursing administration and human resources.

 Practice Nurse

Publishes news, features, & research in the field of nursing.

 Critical Care Nurse

Publishes practical, clinically relevant manuscripts describing care of critically ill patients & their families. Provides information concerning the bedside care of critically & acutely ill patients.

 The Online Journal of Issues in Nursing

Provides a forum to exchange ideas & data about topics that affect nursing practice, education & research. Addresses major health care concerns for health care professionals. Is explored form a variety of viewpoints.

1. PubMed: National Library of Medicine: Full text articles about medical research AND citations and abstracts to additional research articles. Look in the library search box to find access to full text.

Conduct your search using relevant keywords, i.e.: 

To look for case reports or guidelines or limit by sex/age/etc: search for your topic and/or program then from the "Article Type" section, select "See all article type filters" and limit to case report/guidelines/systematic review/etc.

Scroll down for sex/age/etc. filters.

2. PubMed Central: National Library of Medicine: Full text research articles about all topics in medicine. Limit by date and open access on left side.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost): Full-text articles from of nursing & allied health journals and trade periodicals. Includes: standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments, and clinical trials.  TUTORIAL

Use the Advanced Search in CINAHL to limit by: Evidence-Based Practice, Author is Nurse, Controlled Trials, Clinical Queries, Sex, Age, etc. Scroll down to find the various limiters and filters. 

• Choose “Advanced Search” from main search screen
• On Advanced Search screen, scroll down to limit by “Publication Type” and select “Practice Guidelines".
• Return to the top search box and click box to remove “Suggest Subject Terms” and enter your keywords.
• Results will all be limited to the Publication Type “Practice Guideline”.

Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale)

Use the Advanced Search in Nursing & Allied Health Collection and limit by Document Type: Case overview, Case study, Clinical report, Disease/Disorder overview, Medical procedure overview, etc.