LibGuides: Nursing: Global Health

Global Health Statistics and Data Sources

Global Cancer Observatory (GCO); formerly CANCERMondial
Presents global cancer statistics with a focus on the visualization of cancer indicators to illustrate the changing scale, epidemiological profile, and impact of the disease worldwide. Uses data from: IARC’s Section of Cancer Surveillance (CSU), including GLOBOCAN; Cancer Incidence in Five Continents (CI5); International Incidence of Childhood Cancer (IICC); and Cancer Survival in Africa, Asia, the Caribbean and Central America (SurvCan).
Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx)
The GHDx is a data catalog listing information about microdata, aggregated data, and research results with a focus on health-related and demographic datasets. EXPLORE RESEARCH AND ANALYSIS
Kaiser Health Global Health Polls
International Health Care System Profiles
Overviews of the health care systems of Australia, Canada, Denmark, England, France, Germany, Israel, Japan, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, and the United States.
WHO Global Health Observatory
Explore a world of health data
WHO annual World Health Statistics report
WHO's annual World Health Statistics reports present the most recent health statistics for the WHO Member States.
Pew Research Center: Global Health
Research, data, and surveys from Pew Research Center. Pew is a leader in research and data collection for US and Global public opinion, social trends, and demographic information.
The Global Nutrition Report 2022
The 2022 Global Nutrition Report provides a concise data-focused update on the state of diets and nutrition in the world. Independent analysis of the best data on nutrition is critical for evidence-based, timely and effective actions to ensure we deliver on our global commitment to end poor diets and malnutrition.
Country Nutrition Profiles
From Global Nutrition Report - Explore the latest data on nutrition at global, regional and country level, with interactive charts that let you see what progress your country has made towards the global nutrition targets.
WHO MiNDbank
A database of resources covering mental health, substance abuse, disability, general health, human rights and development
Columbia University Health Policy Library
The Comparative Health Policy Library was created to provide an extensive international health policy library and searchable database for the students of Columbia University Mailman School of Public Health.
Global Burden of Disease by Country
The Country Profiles provide an overview of findings from the Global Burden of Disease (GBD)
Infographics from the Lancet
Visual summaries, data visualizations, and illustrated explorations
Harvard University Global Health Incubator
Reports from government agencies and academic journals about global health issues.

County Profiles

CIA: The World Factbook
Provides a summary of the demographics, geography, communications, government, economy, and military of each of 267 international entities[2] including U.S.-recognized countries, dependencies, and other areas in the world.
UN Data
A single entry point to United Nations statistical databases.
Unicef: The State of the World's Children Report 2021
The State of the World’s Children 2021 examines child, adolescent and caregiver mental health. It focuses on risks and protective factors at critical moments in the life course and delves into the social determinants that shape mental health and well-being.
World Bank Open Data
Download access to over 2,000 indicators from World Bank data sources.
WHO Country Profiles
Country data from the World Health Organization grouped by region.
Population Research Bureau | Data Sheets
Demographic and health indicators by country and region including population projections and key data insights.

Library Search Box

Library Resources

PubMed
Premier search engine for biomedical literature. Excellent source for global health topics, but look to other databases for broader interdisciplinary research.

CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window
;
- What's included? Full-text articles from of nursing & allied health journals and trade periodicals. Includes: standards of practice, audiovisuals and book chapters, legal cases, clinical innovations, critical paths, research instruments, and clinical trials.
Nursing and Allied Health Collection (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Academic journal articles and other resources covering all aspects of the nursing profession, from direct patient care to health care administration. The database offers current and authoritative content that supports specialized care, treatment, and patient management. Great resource for nursing and allied health students and professionals.
Coronavirus Research Database (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Articles and scientific studies about the COVID-19 coronavirus from a national and global health approach.

Search eBooks

EBSCOhost eBook Comprehensive Academic Collection This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Full-text, searchable scholarly eBooks covering a broad range of topics.
EBSCOhost eBook Community College Collection This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Full-text, searchable eBooks focused on the academic needs of community colleges as well as key subject areas such as the Humanities, Social Sciences, Business, Science & Technology, and the Technical Trades.
EBSCOhost eBook Collection This link opens in a new window
- What's included? Our largest collection of eBooks. Provides full-text access to over 300,000 titles on all academic subjects.

Searching EBSCO eBooks Video
This tutorial demonstrates how to search for EBSCO eBooks on EBSCOhost. 1m 26s
Reading EBSCO eBooks
This tutorial demonstrates how to read EBSCO eBooks in EBSCOhost. 3m