Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database & Book Catalog Instruction: Proquest

Information about how to use the library databases and book catalog.

Proquest Databases

Search results in ProQuest

How to Search in the Proquest Databases

1. Select Proquest from the library webpage by clicking on "P" from the A - Z Databases List or by selecting "Proquest" under Quick Links heading. 

  • If working from off-campus, you may be prompted to enter your KCTCS email and password to access the database.

 

2. Proquest is a collection of 3 databases: Alt-Press Watch, Career & Technical Education, and Coronavirus Research Database. By default, Proquest searches for full-text articles (green arrow) from different types of sources such as: academic journals, magazines, books, trade journals, and more. You can limit your search to a specific source type by clicking on the option or by selecting the "peer reviewed" box under the search bar red arrow).

To do a basic search, enter you keyword(s) or phrases in the search box. Use AND or OR to connect multiple keywords/phrases and use quotation marks around phrases, such as "lead poisoning." After you enter your topic in the search box, click button with the magnifying glass.

 

Screenshot of basic search interface for the proquest databases.

 

3. You can begin looking for relevant articles from the results page. Results show the type of source of source it is with an icon by the title (blue circles) or you can limit using the menu on the left side (blue box). You can also limit by publication date using the menu on the left side (green arrow).  You can preview the document by clicking on "show abstract" (red box). Click on any title to view the article and citation information.

 

Screenshot of result list from search for lead poisoning and water, highlighting limiters in the Proquest databases. 

4. Your article will be displayed on the title page. Simply scroll down. Select the "save as pdf" button to print a .pdf copy of the article (black circle). Every article contains helpful tools for citations, emailing the article, downloading to your device, or printing. These are highlighted in the black circle. Do not copy/paste the web address from the top URL bar, use the email button to send the article to yourself.  Use the "Hide Highlighting" option (yellow arrow) to remove the highlighting from your search terms.

To continue searching, you can click the back arrow on your browser, select the "back to results" link (green box), or browse the "Related Items" area on the right (green circle).

 

Screenshot of article about lead poisoning from the proquest databases with tools highlighted.