Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Database & Book Catalog Instruction: Gale

Information about how to use the library databases and book catalog.

Gale Databases

How to Search in the Gale Databases

1. Select Gale from the library webpage by clicking on "G" from the A - Z Databases List or by clicking "Gale" under Quick Links. 

  • If working from off-campus, you may be prompted to enter your KCTCS email and password.

2. Gale is a collection of 23 different databases. Before you search by your keywords or search phrase, you will need to select which databases you want to search in. All databases are selected by default. It is fine to leave it this way.

  • Gale Academic OneFile is the largest database and covers a broad range of topics. If you want to do a smaller search, choose this database. 

3. Press the continue button to move to the search screen. 

screen shot of gale database selection menu

 

4. Now you are ready to enter your keyword(s) in the search box. I entered the phrase funeral rituals. Click the magnifying glass to see your results.

  • The database will auto generate suggested synonyms or related terms. You can select one or keep with your original keywords.screen shot of basic search screen in gale databases

 

5. You can begin looking for relevant articles from the results page. Results default to showing magazine articles first, but you can change your results to a specific source type, like an academic journal or newspaper, by selecting from the options highlighted by the black box. All results are full-text by default (black arrow) and each result will show the publication date, word length, and type of article (article/book review/editorial) under the article title (black circle). Click on any title to view the article and citation information. image of search result screen in gale databases

 

6. Every article contains helpful tools for citations, emailing the article, downloading to your device, or printing. These are highlighted in the green square. Use the "Get Link" option to get a usable URL for copy/paste. Do not copy/paste the web address from the top URL bar. To continue searching, you can click the back arrow (blue arrow), or browse the "More Like This" or "Related Subjects" area (red square).article on death doulas from the gale database with navigation tools highlighted by boxes and arrows