Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ECTC Archives: Anniversaries and Dedications

Description of ECTC archives holdings; a brief history; finding aids; images

Overview

This box contains programs, invitations, announcements, newspaper publications and other materials associated with the anniversary celebrations, groundbreaking ceremonies and building dedications that took place on the ECC/ECTC campus from 1964 to 2014. 

Elizabethtown Community College was founded in the early 1960s. The state approval for the college's establishment as part of the University of Kentucky Community College System was signed on March 6, 1962. Groundbreaking for the new college took place on November 20, 1962, on farmland originally belonging to Clem Scott, and purchased by the North Central Education Foundation (organized to raise funds for the new college.) The college was completed by the fall of 1963. Four full-term, full credit college classes were taught in the building during the spring semester of 1964. The college officially opened in the fall of 1964, with regular classes beginning on September 3, 1964.

Elizabethtown Community College functioned as a branch campus of the University of Kentucky, subject to UK policies and oversight. It formed part of the University of Kentucky Community College System, along with 12 other community colleges around the state of Kentucky. Courses taught at ECC aligned with 100 and 200 level courses taught at UK; graduates received AA, AS and AAS degrees with the names of both college and university on their diplomas. ECC was subject to UK policies; however, it sought and received accreditation independently. Programs for ECC celebrations, dedications and anniversaries that took place prior to 1998 prominently display the names of both college and university.

In 1997 the General Assembly voted to form a new governing structure for the community colleges and the technical schools. Kentucky Community and Technical College System was formed in 1998. The community colleges and KY Tech schools moved from UK and workforce cabinet administration to that of the newly formed KCTCS. The technical schools, known statewide as KY Tech, were renamed with the designation of technical college. Programs for ECC celebrations, dedications and anniversaries that took place in 1998 or later display the KCTCS name in place of the University of Kentucky.

Elizabethtown Community College and the nearby Elizabethtown Technical College merged in the fall of 2004 to become Elizabethtown Community and Technical College (ECTC.) Programs for celebrations, dedications and anniversaries that took place after 2004 show this name change.

The 45th and 25th anniversaries were combined with building dedications; the programs for these events reflect the joint celebrations. The anniversary years are based on the opening of Elizabethtown Community College in 1964. The next anniversary celebration will take place in 2024, the 60th anniversary of ECC's opening and the 20th anniversary of the merging of ECC and Elizabethtown Technical College (founded as Elizabethtown Area Vocational School in 1966 and renamed twice before the merger.) 

The collection is not comprehensive. There are no programs for the following: the college groundbreaking (November 20, 1962;) the Science Building and Student Center groundbreaking; the Learning Resource Center dedication ceremony; the groundbreaking ceremonies held for the Academic Technical Building or Regional Postsecondary Education Center; the celebration for the 50th anniversary.

Name changes

  • The James S. Owen Administration Building was renamed the James S. Owen Building in 2012. The name change reflected the fact that the building no longer housed administrative offices - they had been moved to the RPC after 2002.
  • Elizabethtown Community College and Elizabethtown Technical College merged in 2004 to become Elizabethtown Community and Technical College.

Physical items

The programs vary in quality. Later programs were printed professionally. The programs for the college dedication, Science and Student Center building dedication and LRC dedication are very simple – simple black type on folded white paper; 8.5X11, normal weight. In contrast the program for the 45th anniversary celebration exhibits a highly polished appearance, described in some detail with its official entry.

Documents show the range and progression of communication methods - mimeographed memos; word-processed/printed/photocopied memos; emails that were printed out for inclusion in the archives. Emails are no longer printed out but are gathered in the EL-Archives; some emails will be saved and stored as PDF documents

Most of the programs have some discoloration or markings, often made by library staff, or by original owners. Call numbers were written on programs in pencil. Some display stamp markings or discolorations from proximity to other documents.

Building Dedications

  • Program. Dedication Exercises. University of Kentucky. Elizabethtown Community College. Tuesday, September 8, 1964 at 2:00 p.m. Invocation: Verlin C. Kruschwitz, Pastor, Severns Valley Baptist Church. Music: College Chorus, John W. Jennings, Director. Greetings: James M. Collier, North Central Education Foundation. Greetings: Ellis F. Hartford, Dean, Community College System. Recognition of Officials and Guests: James S. Owen, Director, ECC. Presentation of Keys: John Wieland Oswald, President, University of Kentucky. Acceptance Remarks: Governor Edward T. Breathitt, Chairman, Board of Trustees. Dedicatory Remarks: John Wieland Oswald, President, UK. Benediction: Walter C. Sutton, Pastor, Elizabethtown Presbyterian Church. Reception and open house at close of program. 3 copies. All have library-applied stamps and call numbers.
  • Program. Dedication for the Science and Student Center Buildings. University of Kentucky. Elizabethtown Community College. Wednesday, September 24, 1969 at 3:00 p.m. Leslie H. Woodson, Pastor, Memorial Methodist Church: Invocation. College Chorus, Camille Hill, Director. Robert C. Wade, Chairman, Elizabethtown Community College Advisory Board: Greetings. Paul Eugene McClure, President, Student Congress: Greetings. James S. Owen, Director, ECC: Recognition of Officials and Guests. Ellis F. Hartford, Dean, Community College System: Greetings. Otis A. Singletary, President, University of Kentucky: Remarks. Governor Louie B. Nunn, Chairman, Board of Trustees: Dedicatory Address. Paul K. Carrier, Pastor, First Christian Church: Benediction. 2 copies
  • Program. Groundbreaking Exercises. Learning Resource Center. University of Kentucky’s Elizabethtown Community College. April 7, 1983. 3:30 p.m. Master of Ceremonies: Talton K. Stone, Chairman, ECC Advisory Board. Invocation: Bernard T. Bishop, Pastor, Elizabethtown First Baptist Church. Greetings and Introductions: James S. Owen, Director, ECC. Greetings and Remarks: Talton K. Stone. Greetings and Introduction of President Singletary: Charles T. Wethington, Chancellor, UKCCS. Groundbreaking Remarks: Otis Singletary, President, UK. Groundbreaking Activity. Reception. 1 copy.
  • Invitation. Dedication Ceremony. Learning Resource Center. September 30, 1985 from 3:00 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. Tours will be available from 2:00 p.m. to 2:45 p.m. and after the ceremony until 5:00 p.m. 
  • Invitation to 25th Anniversary Celebration/Dedication of Academic Technical Building. October 6, 1989, 11:00 a.m. at the Academic Technical Building. “We are honored to have Governor Wallace Wilkinson as the speaker for the celebration…”
  • Program. 25th Anniversary Celebration and Dedication of the Academic Technical Building. October 6, 1989. 11:30 a.m. Invocation: Reverend Bernard Bishop. Musical Presentation: College Show Choir. Welcome: Tim Weathers, College Advisory Board Member. Introduction: Dr. Charles E. Stebbins, President, Elizabethtown Community College. Comments: Ann Thompson, Vice Chairman, ECC Faculty; Dale Rector, Representative, ECC Student Government. Introduction of Speaker: Dr. Charles Wethington, Chancellor, UKCCS. Dedication and Anniversary Address: the Honorable Wallace G. Wilkinson, Governor, Commonwealth of Kentucky. 1 copy. Professionally printed; burgundy print on heavyweight lined paper. Raised seal and building photograph on cover. Program on inside verso. Inside recto includes a description of the ATB; the names of architects and contractors; the names of the ECC College Advisory Board; the names of members of NCKEF. Back cover includes a brief history of ECC and a complete list of ECC faculty and staff, fulltime and part time.
  • Program. Dedication and Ribbon Cutting Ceremony. Central Regional Postsecondary Education Center. [Phase 1.]  Thursday, April 25, 2002. Scheduled Keynote Speaker: Governor Paul E. Patton. Reception in Bookstore and Open House. 3 copies.
  • Program. Dedication and Ribbon Cutting Ceremony. Central Regional Postsecondary Education Center. [Phase 1.]  Same as above but with color illustration on cover and a more detailed program inside. Presiding: Dr. Thelma J. White, President, ECC. Welcome/Introduction: Dr. Thelma J. White and Mr. Carnie O. Ramer, Director, ETC. Participants: The Honorable David Wilmoth, Mayor, Elizabethtown; Ms. Holly Greenwell, ECC/ETC/WKU student; Dr. Gary A. Ramsdell, President, WKU; Dr. Michael B. McCall, President, KCTCS; Ms. Cynthia L. Read, Chair, KCTCS Board of Regents; Ms. Penelope S. Logsdon, KCTCS Faculty Regent, ECC; The Honorable Jimmie Lee, Kentucky State Representative; The Honorable Paul E. Patton, Governor, Commonwealth of Kentucky. Ribbon Cutting Ceremony. Reception and Open House to Follow
  • Program. 45th Anniversary Celebration and Dedication Ceremonies. Regional Postsecondary Education Center [Phase 2.] April 22, 2010. Welcome: Dr. Thelma J. White, ECC President. Invocation: Mrs. Carolyn Thomason, Chair, ECTC Board of Directors. ECTC Choristers, directed by Dr. Camille Hill. Greetings: Dr. Michael B. McCall, President, KCTCS; Mr. Colmon Elridge, Executive Assistant to the Governor; Mr. Bob King, President, Kentucky Council on Postsecondary Education; Dr. Ronald Stephens, Associate Dean, WKU – Elizabethtown Campus; Ms Kayla Peters, President, Student Government Association; Professor Katrina Eicher, Faculty Representative, BOD; Gwyn Sutherland, Staff Representative, BOD. Remarks: The Honorable Jimmie Lee, Kentucky House of Representatives, District 25; The Honorable Elizabeth Tori, Kentucky Senate, District 10. Presentation of Building Keys: Mr. Richard Clauson, Morel Construction Company, Louisville KY; Mr. David Samokar, Clotfelter-Samokar Architects, Lexington KY. My Old Kentucky Home by the ECTC Choristers, directed by Joe Galloway. Ribbon Cutting Ceremony, Front Entrance. Reception and Building tours. 1 copy.

This box does not include the naming of the James S. Owen Administration Building on January 12, 1996 or the naming of the James M. Collier Learning Resource Center in September 1996. Photos and newspaper clippings exist elsewhere of these ceremonies.

10th Anniversary

Folder 1

Mimeographed memo from ECC Advisory Board to Friends of ECC. Request for assistance with information. 5 pages of information sought: number of students, sketches of successful alumni, number of graduates, list of graduates, number of faculty, faculty activities, student profiles in career programs, and much more

Memo. Beginning Second Decade Ideas. Purpose: to stress services that the college can provide...Possibilities: one big gala; inviting newspapers to make special publications, etc. At bottom of memo is a handwritten note to Lila [Kiser] - Lila - this note has been given to Mr. [Talton] Stone to use at the advisory board meeting Monday. Sorry you cannot be present...not signed. 

Sheet of typing paper, with three holes, likely from pressbook. Has newspaper clipping entitled Buildings Are Dedicated but the article is only the second half of the article. This is likely the dedication of the Science Building and Student Center

Folder 2

Special ECC Supplement. The News-Enterprise. Tuesday, November 12, 1974. 24 pages. Acceptable condition but deteriorating as newsprint does. Needs scanning/photography and preservation. Contains articles about the history, faculty, a column by Jim Owen, an article about Lila E.Kiser, faculty interests, photographs of Lila Kiser, George Luster, the Barons, cheerleaders, the library, profiles of two international students, casual photos of students, lists of student activities, a photo of Linda Holbert, photos and profiles of alumni DIane Elmore (Diane Logsdon,) Gary Avery, TImothy Weathers and Nolte Steven Atcher. Lots of ads. A second copy exists but it is in poor condition and lacks some of the pages.

20th Anniversary

Folder 1

  • Booklet. Elizabethtown Community College. 20 Years...and growing. Black print on heavy cream paper; 8.5X11 folded over. Cover features a sketch of the Administration Building. Does not have University on the cover. 8 pages of text; college history; service to students; service to community; employee leadership. 3 copies.
  • Program. Elizabethtown  Community College. 1964-1983. 20 Years and Growing. University of Kentucky Community College System. 20th Anniversary. Black print on standard weight white paper. Verso: welcome statement signed by James S. Owen. Recto: Calendar of Events. March 29: Community Involvement Seminar. April 3, 10, 17, 24: "American Education Since 1945." April 6: Reception for Alumni. April 7: Reception for Former Nursing Students. April 8: Reception for Former Baptist Student Union Members. April 14: "Seminar About Women: Past Two Decades/Future Two Decades." April 15: Open House. April 29: Reception for Former Phi Beta Lambda Members. Back cover: drawing of map. No year given; 1984 is presumed. 1 copy
  • 3 page typed document inserted in program. Policy Statement on the Community College System (Approved by the Board of Trustees.) Overview beginning with words "Kentucky's public higher education administered by the University of Kentucky will consist of two systems..." Headings include Role of the Community College System; Administrative Structure of the University of Kentucky; Faculty of the Community College System; Admission Requirements of the CC System; Facilities; Students; Policy for Expansion; Community College Rationale. From the University of Kentucky Administrative Regulations AR II - 5, 0-1
  • Tent card. 20 Great Years and Growing. Community College System - University of Kentucky. Blue text and images on light cream (likely originally white) card. 

Folder 2

  • A Proclamation. Recognizing the Twentieth Anniversary of Elizabethtown Community College and the University of Kentucky Community College System. whereas...[city/county] congratulates...signed by name and title of mayor/judge executive or other official. A small photograph of signing official appears in left hand corner. The documents are photocopies so the photo quality is limited. 13 pages; each page from a different city or county. Documents were signed in March or April of 1984.
  • 10 certificates. Signed by Robert Keen and James S. Owen. Names of students written in. Certificates given to students who were enrolled in the fall of 1964 participated in the 20 year anniversary celebration.

Folder 3

  • Typed list of names and cities. Note attached - need a list of all students enrolled at ECC the first year. probably needs to come from class rolls.
  • Typed list of names; some with addresses. Some have handwritten notes such as RSVP or name corrections.
  • Typed list of names and addresses; names include William B. Schmidt and Talton K. Stone. List includes 8 names; others have been handwritten at the bottom. Note attached: names, addresses, instructions to send to students
  • Two envelopes addressed to Maurice Utley. Both envelopes contain handwritten RSVP. Postmarked March and April 1984
  • 1 card mailed to Maurice Utley; handwritten RSVP on back

25th Anniversary

Folder 1

  • Program. 25th Anniversary Celebration and Dedication of the Academic Technical Building. October 6, 1989. 11:30 a.m. Invocation: Reverend Bernard Bishop. Musical Presentation: College Show Choir. Welcome: Tim Weathers, College Advisory Board Member. Introduction: Dr. Charles E. Stebbins, President, Elizabethtown Community College. Comments: Ann Thompson, Vice Chairman, ECC Faculty; Dale Rector, Representative, ECC Student Government. Introduction of Speaker: Dr. Charles Wethington, Chancellor, UKCCS. Dedication and Anniversary Address: the Honorable Wallace G. Wilkinson, Governor, Commonwealth of Kentucky. 1 copy. Professionally printed; burgundy print on heavyweight lined paper. Raised seal and building photograph on cover. Program on inside verso. Inside recto includes a description of the ATB; the names of architects and contractors; the names of the ECC College Advisory Board; the names of members of NCKEF. Back cover includes a brief history of ECC and a complete list of ECC faculty and staff, fulltime and part time. 2 copies. 
  • Invitation. "A Day of Celebration for Education." Central Regional Postsecondary Education Center and Children's Museum of Elizabethtown. Elizabethtown Kentucky. Saturday March 11, 2000. Drawing of the CRPC on cover. Inside reads: you are invited to celebrate and participate in the official groundbreaking for the Regional Education Center. Followed by the Land Dedication for the Children's Museum of Elizabethtown. 3 copies, attached to one of the programs.

30th Anniversary

Folder 1

  • Thirty and Thriving sign. 8.5 X11 sheet; yellow paper of standard weight.
  • Copy of above; tomato red paper
  • ECC's 30th Anniversary Celebration Spirit Week. April 17-21, 1995. Extensive list of activities. Faculty and Staff Appreciation Day, Monday, April 17; Alumni Appreciation Day, Tuesday, April 18; Student Appreciation Day, Wednesday, April 19; Foundation and Board Appreciation Day, Thursday, April 20; Celebration Reception for Students, Faculty, Staff, Community, Friday, April 21. 8.5X11 sheet of standard weight paper; lime green. Does not mention the University of Kentucky though Dr. Charles Wethington and Dr. Ben Carr will be present at Friday's celebration. Last anniversary as a member of the UKCCS.
  • Letter to ECC Faculty, staff and administration from Allene Craddock thanking for memory pin and stressing her sincere interest in ECC. May 2, 1995.
  • Invitation to potluck dinner celebrating the 30th anniversary of ECC on Thursday, April 20, in the Student Center. 8.5X11 standard weight white paper. Section at bottom separated by dotted line - RSVP with name/I will attend/with a guest/I will bring [to be filled in and cut out and returned to the college.] 

Folder 2

  • Supplement to the News-Enterprise. Celebrating 30 Years in Hardin County. Elizabethtown Community College. September 23, 1994. 31 pages. Column by Dr. Charles Stebbins; enrollment numbers by year; fund drives; testimonials by alumni; photos of students on campus; photo of Pamela Harper; lots of ads
  • Official Program Produced by the Hardin County Independent. Elizabethtown Community College. 30th Anniversary Celebration. April 17-21, 1995. History, photo with names of NCKEF members; detailed schedule of events for the week, Partners in Progress campaign, group photos of faculty; list of faculty names with their start dates. Lots of ads

35th Anniversary

  • Program. Open House. Elizabethtown Community College. 35th Anniversary. 1964 -1999. September 26, 1999. 2:00 to 6:00 p.m. Extensive list of events, including Japanese drummers, Anthropology Computer Lab demonstrations, Heartland Brass Quintet, Heartland Dulcimer Club, Tae Kwon do Club Exhibition and more. 8.5X11 sheet of standard weight paper; azure. Folded. 
  • Memo. To all ECC Faculty and Staff. From: Joella Spataro, 35th Anniversary Celebration Planning Committee. Subject: SLOGO contest. Date: January 20, 1999. Calls for participation in logo contest.
  • Letter from Dr. White to ECC faculty and staff. September 22, 1999. Reminder of the open house; invitation to attend and hear Dr. White publicly thank the ECC community. Printed on letterhead. Letterhead reflects redesign after the formation of KCTCS - the name Elizabethtown Community College uses the same blue coloring, the same font, the same appearance and the same location as it appeared prior to 1998. The UK logo in the upper left corner has been removed; the KCTCS logo is placed in the lower right corner. The Education Pays logo appears in the lower left corner. 2 copies.
  • Memo. From Joella Spataro to participants. September 21, 1999. Joella thanks Ann for doing the library tours. Tells her what to wear. Information about parking.
  • Supplement to the News Enterprise. Elizabethtown Community College. 35th Anniversary. Helping Students Reach Their Goals for 35 years. September 24, 1999. Timelines; list of events; article by Dr. White; articles about the college; articles about Career Counseling, the Training Center, financial aid, gallery, foundation, philanthropy, extracurricular activities, retiring faculty, degree programs, ads.

40th Anniversary

  • Program sheets Celebrating the Journey. Elizabethtown Community and Technical College. Open House. Sunday, September 26, 2004. 2:00pm to 6:00pm. 2 sheets of 8.5X11 standard weight white paper. Blue and black lettering. Color illustrations; color college and system (KCTCS) logo. The sheets would be copied double-sided and folded into three part programs. Directions on left of page 1 (back page on program.) Color illustrations and schedule of events - welcome by Dr. White and unveiling of student sculptures; band; guided tours; historical exhibit; watercolor show; Skills USA car show; Children's Fire Safety House. Photo on lower right shows Amy Priddy Williams on the left and Joy Gardner on the right, participating in the SGA Spring Fling of 2004
  • Printout of email. Wednesday, September 22, 2004. From Mary Jo King to KCTCS ELICC-ALL; ELITC ALL. Reminder of historical exhibit in room 112 [Administration Building, Behen Room] and reception to be held that day. The exhibit would be up through the following Sunday. The listserv names show that electronic consolidation has not yet taken place although the two colleges (Elizabethtown Community College and Elizabethtown Technical College, formerly KY Tech) have officially merged.
  • Printout of email. Wednesday August 18, 2004. Cristy Null to KCTCS ELICC ALL; KCTCS ELITC All. Tour guide training sessions. Request for volunteers; times of tour guide training
  • Printout of email. Wednesday, September 15, 2004. Martha Wolfe to ELICC ALL and ELITC All. Subject: Historical Exhibit. Request for materials for exhibit
  • Printout of email. Monday, September 20, 2004. From Cristy Null. To ELICC ALL and ELITC ALL. Open House Volunteer Schedule. Instructions in email; schedule of events and locations with names of volunteers on attached sheet

 

45th Anniversary

The 45th Anniversary was combined with the dedication of Phase 2 of the Regional Postsecondary Education Center. It was held on April 22,2010 at ECTC.

  • Program. Elizabethtown Community and Technical College. Transforming Lives/Transforming Kentucky. 45th Anniversary Celebration and Dedication Ceremonies. Regional Postsecondary Education Center. April 22, 2010. Description under Building Dedications; duplicate of building dedication program. 
  • Printout of press release. Today's News for October 29, 2008. Information about ECTC: enrollment numbers; budget cuts; the 2008 Distinguished Alumni

50th Anniversary

Programs. Celebrating 50 Years of Excellence. Open House and Homecoming. Saturday, September 27, 2014, 10:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. Elizabethtown Community and Technical College Est 1964. 8.5X14 standard weight white paper. Trifold. Activities listed by building: James S. Owen Building [the former Administration building and first building constructed on campus:] gallery, art studio, information on teacher certification, interdisciplinary early childhood education. Science Building. Biology labs; chemistry and physics labs - demonstrations and displays. Academic Technical Building: Computer Information Technology - demonstrations; Business Studies - program information. Regional Postsecondary Center. Nursing, respiratory care, radiography. Tours and demonstrations. Fire/Rescue Center - tours. Live fire extinguisher demos. Admissions/Financial Aid/Counseling. Workforce Solutions. Occupational Technical Building. Demonstrations in various programs. Back page: Revisit History/Reconnect with Friends. James S. Owen Building, John P. Behen Room, Room 112. Welcome remarks from Dr. White at 12:30 in the Owen/Science Courtyard. Japanese School Athletic Day demonstration. Silent Auction. Cornhole tournament. 2 copies of programs.

Printout of article from News-Enterprise. College Honors Distinguished Alumni. 

The Street. [ECC/ECTC student newspaper.] November 3, 2014. Open House recognizes anniversary. Page 1, cont. page 5. Photos of RPC; Dr. White addressing students; ice water being dumped on instructors Amy Fox, Daniel Lloyd, and Katrina Eicher

 

Miscellaneous

  • Logo Contest 1978, Memos and submissions. Mimeographs. 7 sheets. Calls for submissions; drawings; memo announcing winner
  • Magazine. University of Kentucky Community Colleges. 20 Great Years and Growing. 1983/84. List of colleges; history; photographs; articles on learning and reasons for choosing community college; directory of UKCCS personnel. Section on Elizabethtown with photos, history and directory; insert on pale blue paper. It appears that each CC received a version of this magazine with an insert tailored to their college
  • Card invitation. A Celebration of 50 Years in Education. North Central Education Foundation.Thursday, September 23, 2010. Historic State Theater.